Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Rock Frostbite 2014 / 2015

Rock Frostbite 2014 / 2015 3 years 1 month ago #1221

• markstacey
  • Fresh Boarder
Some good racing between Blaze 762 Roger Williams and 654 Mark Stacey every race getting closer to beating Roger but not achieved quite yet but getting close! A rare picture of 654 in front but happy with the way the boat is going as its only my 4 outing in her!
Attachments:
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Rock Frostbite 2014 / 2015 3 years 1 month ago #1225

• Stewart609
His mast looks like it has a bit of sideways bend - yours looks straight as a die. I wonder if this is significant?
Last Edit: 3 years 1 month ago by Stewart609.

Rock Frostbite 2014 / 2015 3 years 1 month ago #1228

• markstacey
  • Fresh Boarder
Hi Stewart

Thanks for that, as I am completely new to Blaze sailing and my back ground in racing is in a multi hull is that a good thing or a bad thing in a Blaze and any tips on adjustment will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Rock Frostbite 2014 / 2015 3 years 1 month ago #1229

• Stewart609
Well my background is a Laser 4000 which also has lower shrouds and one thing I learnt very early on is that you can make a rig too stiff. With the 4000 it meant the crew got out on the wire in lower wind speeds, which you'd think would make the boat faster in light winds, but no, it made it less responsive so a bit like driving a car in top gear at 15 mph - it just didn't accelerate!

So this rig tuning is important and my advice is check you are using the class norm which is a rake of about 7060m and very loose lowers. I think all the numbers are on the class website.